Nashville Coffee Tour

A couple years ago I took a small day trip up to Nashville for a concert. We only wandered the city for an hour or so, grabbed food, and then headed to the venue. It seemed like a pretty awesome city from the little I saw.

Well while on vacation the other week I had some time to kill before the roasting class in Franklin, so I went on up to Nashville to do a small coffee tour – Crema, Barista Parlor, and Steadfast. I only learned about Barista Parlor a couple days before going.

13494917_1799216143642781_7123082746918907664_n

CREMA

You know how you always hear about places and they sort of build up this huge famous-like image in your head? Well that’s how Crema (and Steadfast) are to me. I’ve heard about them both for so long and to me they seem like the cream of the crop when it comes to specialty coffee.

So I pull up at Crema and it’s weird to see such a small shop and parking lot. Great things come in small packages I guess. It’s definitely a bustling shop, I had to stand at a table. No complaints though, well worth it.

IMG_4176

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

The presentation is spot on at like every shop I go to, Crema was no exception. I love their logo so seeing that added to the serving tray was a nice touch. Ignore the noob move I made that disturbed the espresso.

The highlight of this shop (or visit considering I wasn’t there too long), was the iced Ethiopia Kochere. I’m not sure if it was pre-brewed iced coffee (like in a Chemex) or cold brew, but it was freaking amazing. I couldn’t pinpoint the exact fruit I was tasting but it was so present the entire time. I actually have a bag of this now and while it’s great, I can’t get the same note out of it. I’m leaning towards it probably being cold brew, but that’s just a guess.

BARISTA PARLOR

This shop has by far the coolest branding/decor/whatever you want to call it. They’re located in a small, either an old gas station or mechanics shop, but the layout is symmetrical and really fluid. Also, following these guys on Instagram is a blast.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Check out this menu. Like seriously?! It doesn’t get any cooler. I started off with a shot of the daredevil espresso, probably top 2-3 shots I’ve tried so far. The next stop was Steadfast and I was running out of time so the shot is all I got to try. If I’m ever back in Nashville I’ll be checking them out and exploring the menu more.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Such a cool place…

STEADFAST (GERMANTOWN)

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Admittedly, I had no clue how to get into this place at first. I’d Google Mapped it prior to leaving but never saw a sign/entrance. Luckily, I had to park a ways off and the way I walked up to the building lead me right into it. Like Crema, walking up to this place was like an “AHHHHHHHHH” moment. Once inside it was a tiny little place, but jammed back. Just liked Crema.

I bet you can’t guess what I started off with… Kidding. Of course it was a shot of espresso. And again, presentation on point.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

For the drive back to Franklin, I got a Matchless Coffee Soda. It was…#@#(*@()#*@( AMAZING. Like…wow. Probably the greatest coffee drink I’ve ever been blessed enough to try. This stuff is gold. And was gone before I even hit the highway. The highway was like 2 miles away… Don’t judge me until you’ve tried it.

So yeah, if you’re ever in Nashville and need a coffee fix, you’ve got plenty of options.


MENTIONED IN THE POST

Crema – WEBSITE // Instagram: @cremacrema

Barista Parlor – WEBSITE // Instagram: @baristaparlor

Steadfast – WEBSITE // Instagram: @steadfastcoffee

Leave a Reply

