Angels Cup – 2nd Flight

I was a bit late getting this flight due to the Fourth of July, I got it Wednesday. I also got in some other coffee so it was sort of juggling game on what to brew. My plan was to finish it up Sunday, but Saturday night my scale decided to call it quits. Thankfully my new Hario drip scale arrived Monday and we were back in business.

So last night I went a tad crazy and brewed up the remaining three. I must say, this flight was pretty awesome, and another set of firsts for me. I really can’t recommend Angels Cup enough. For $10/shipment (week), why wouldn’t you at least try it?

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset


Burundi Mwakiro APROCO Coop – Coava Coffee

[Raisin, Prune, Wine]

This was my first ever from Burundi, first bourbon, and my first from Coava Coffee. Before and after grinding, there was a sort of baked/sweet and green tea smell to the beans. Once brewed, it was sweet and had a nice body to it.

The notes called for raisins and prunes, two items I stay far away from so I’m not really sure about these notes. On the card it called for blueberry cream, raspberry, floral, and a lemonade twang when hot. Gotta say I got none of that. As it cooled, an odd taste surfaced that I’m going to guess was the raisin and prune notes. While not a fan of those two, it wasn’t a bad cup. It might not be a coffee I’d order a 12oz bag of, but I do appreciate it.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset


Kenya Oreti Estate – Ross Street Roasting

[Raisin, Plum, Plantain, Dark Chocolate]

Again with the raisin notes… I’m clueless on them. Guess I need to buy a small bag and take some sacrifices for the sake of my palate. I just can’t deal with that texture. The beans of this sample were a little odd looking. Some were small, some big, some deformed looking. They smelt great though. Real fruity and savory? I don’t know if that combo is possible. I keep getting what I feel to be savory smells and I’m not sure if that’s what it is or not, but I’m going with it.

The card states that this is a “solid Kenya, clearly identifiable”. Guess I haven’t tried enough Kenyans cause I was leaning towards a Colombian due to the depth of it. The dark chocolate note was all I could find or associate with. Over ice, what I’m assuming to be the plum and raisin notes come out. Really unique.

Ross Street Roasting is a new roaster for me. They carry an Ethiopia Yirgacheffe Konga I’d be interested in trying. Our local roaster nearby carried a Yirgacheffe Konga recently and it was an incredible iced coffee, almost like drinking sweet tea.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Colombia Finca San Pascual – Sunergos Coffee

[Blueberry, Raspberry, Grape]

Another new roaster for me, but in my last flight I had a Colombia San Pascual from One Line Coffee. I thoroughly enjoyed the one from One Line Coffee, especially iced. It had a nice sweetness with some vanilla in there too. This one however, I had issues with and I’m not blaming the coffee. I had just chewed peppermint gum and yeah, I’m dumb. It really threw the experience off at first. I didn’t get into the cup too much until it had cooled off quite a bit. It sort of had a quick finish to it – maybe that’s the dryness mentioned?

When I read the card the tobacco aftertaste struck me as odd. I’ve seen tobacco listed on the flavor wheel, but never experienced it… Until this cup. I thought it wouldn’t be pleasant, but I enjoyed it. Something new.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset


Ethiopia Kilenso – Coava Coffee

[Blueberry, Lemon, Cream, Floral]

Another one from Coava. @siriusscrilla (go follow him) and myself were recently chatting and he mentioned getting this exact coffee in his recent Misto Box. I’d been debating getting a bag cause I’ve never had a natural Ethiopian. Well, look what was in the Angels Cup flight… a natural Ethiopian. I won’t say I fell in love, but I might have to order myself a bag of this now.

The beans had a nice chocolaty/honey smell. Once brewed, it reminded me of a sort of hot toddy, minus a lot of the lemon. Such a good cup and a definite favorite of mine from this flight.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset


This is only my 2nd flight, but it’s been my favorite. Lots of new experiences and great coffee.

MENTIONED IN POST:

Coava Coffee – WEBSITE // INSTAGRAM: @coavacoffee

Ross Street Roasting – WEBSITE // INSTAGRAM: @roastedonross

Sunergos Coffee – WEBSITE // INSTAGRAM: @sunergos_coffee

Leave a Reply

