Angles Cup – 4th Flight

Earlier this week I came up with a posting schedule for my Angels Cup flights, but with this one arriving Tuesday (and hopefully the next ones start coming in on Tuesdays) I’ve changed it up a bit. So now:

  • Wednesday – Instagram the arrival and begin brewing them that evening
  • Thursday – brew up the remaining samples and write a blog post
  • Friday – Instagram all the cards, tag each roaster
  • Saturday through Tuesday – Instagram each card individually and create conversation around each coffee

Hopefully I can stick with this routine.

Also, starting with next week’s flight I’ll be switching the format up a tad. I just got in a V60 01 (I’ve been brewing these past two flights up with an 03). My plan is to brew up two small cups of each, one hot and the other over ice, to see how the coffee does both ways. I have to work on dialing that little guy in this weekend and getting my pours figured out beforehand, but expect that new addition in future flights.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset


Guatemala Waykan – Wild Gift Coffee

[Raisin, Vanilla, Apricot]

On this one I got a nice smell of cookies from the beans after grinding them. If not cookies, it was sort of a baked goods smell. After a few sips I wrote down chocolate, nougat, and spice. And ding ding! I got nougat right. I’m not sure how I even guessed that because I don’t eat it… But I’ll take it.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset


PNG Kange Talu – Topeca Coffee

[Plantain, Peach, Jam, Tropical]

Ok, so when I first sipped this one I was kind of taken back. Not really in a good way, but it took some getting used to. I simple wasn’t expecting that note on the first sip. It was pretty sweet, but with an oddness at the beginning. I really wish I had more of the coffee to try again. The card ended up revealing a PNG (Papua New Guinea) and calling for notes of plantains/bananas and peach. Time to add plantains to my list of foods to try.

Over this past weekend I was browsing different roasters and came across Topeca Coffee. They’ve got a really cool event coming up in August called the Barista Speedball. Four coffee roasters (them, Nordaggio’s, Mariposa, and ONYX COFFEE LAB – their packaging…OMG) are all roasting the same coffee and them presenting them in front judges for a blind tasting. It sounds pretty freaking awesome. If only I lived in Tulsa, OK.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset


Ethiopia Dumerso – Steadfast Coffee

[Blueberry, Butterscotch, Milk Chocolate]

*sigh*…. A natural Ethiopian. From the bean size I couldn’t help but guess it was an Ethiopian – super small. This cup was pretty fantastic. I knew Steadfast carried a natural Ethiopian from various Instagram pictures, but didn’t know they still had it. I’m really glad I got to try it although my wallet isn’t cause it’s now been added to the growing list of bags to buy. Also, as this cup cooled it got even better.

If you’re new to the blog, go back about 5 posts and read up on my coffee tour of Nashville. I actually got to visit the Germantown location of Steadfast and it’s a major must if you’re ever in Nashville and have some time to spare.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset


Colombia Finca Buena Vista – Wild Gift Coffee

[Kiwi, Lime, Graham Cracker]

This was my last brew of the flight, another from Wild Gift. Reading on the card “specific flavors are tough to pick out on this one” made me feel better. I was pretty lost on it other than noting the basic note of sweetness and a medium body. I recently brewed up a coffee from Dapper and Wise that called for kiwi and could really pick it out. This one, not so much. However, it was a really tasty cup.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset


 

This weeks flight was pretty flawless. Two new roasters – Wild Gift Coffee and Topeca Coffee – , my first Papua New Guinea, and an incredible natural Ethiopian from Steadfast. You really need to sign up for Angels Cup if you haven’t already…

MENTIONED IN THE POST:

Angels Cup – WEBSITE // INSTAGRAM: @angelscup

Wild Gift Coffee – WEBSITE // INSTAGRAM: @wildgiftcoffee

Topeca Coffee – WEBSITE // INSTAGRAM: @topecacoffee

Steadfast Coffee – WEBSITE // INSTAGRAM: @steadfastcoffee

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

