Angels Cup 8th Flight

Sorry for the delay in getting this post out. I really hope everybody enjoyed the fill in post Friday where I talked about some of my recent coffee swaps. Despite the delay though, this flight was INCREDIBLE.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset


Kenya Mutiu – Parlor Coffee

[Fig, Raisin, Tomato, Plum]

First sip, bright and sweet. Maybe a bit of raisin. Then I got to tasting a bit of tomato. Kind of thought it was in my head, but it started coming through more. Ok, so tomato (I remember in last weeks flight there was a Kenya Gondo from Passion House that was major tomato soup), this must be another Kenyan, or at least that was my guess.

Sure enough, another Kenyan with notes of raisin and tomato. I’m starting to learn now…

Notes of tomato soup just aren’t my thing, but this really was a good cup. It wasn’t overpowering like others, but I still don’t think I could do this as an “early AM, time to wake up” cup of coffee. With that said, I do appreciate it and it’s fun to try.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset


Colombia Hulia, La Serrania – Parlor Coffee

[Apple, Pear, Pie, Vanilla, Nougat, Tropical Fruit]

So….I messed up on this one. It was taking a while to drain (over 3:15) so I went to remove the filter and it tore and grounds went all into the server full of coffee. VFSKNJDKSNJKDVNFNVJDKNDFJKVNDFJKVNDFJKN
I was mad, BUT it was my fault. I went about it totally wrong and wasn’t thinking. But I rebounded quick. I took my V60 01 (so glad I bought that little guy), pre-wet a new filter, set it on my KeepCup and poured the coffee back through the 01 and re-filtered it. And it worked. I wasn’t sure how the coffee would taste seeing as how grounds chilled in it for about a minute, but I wasn’t going to waste it.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

It tasted great and like grounds hadn’t being chilling in it. So first couple of sips, sort of sweet and creamyness. Maybe caramel or nougat, something along those lines. Flip the card over…DECAF!! WHAT?! Didn’t expect that, but I knew decaf specialty coffees were supposed to be way better than what you normally think. And it was another offering from Parlor – so good.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset


Costa Rica Tarrazu, Finca Dragon [White Honey] – Crema

[Sparkling Florals, Melon, Green Grape, Milk Chocolate]

*This card said to compare it to another card – the Red Honey listed below.* When I first saw this I thought it could the two Ethiopians from Onyx (washed vs natural) or something similiar. I wasn’t expecting two different honey processed coffees and it was a really nice surprise.

Sweet, melon, smooth. Kind of caramel/toffee creaminess again.

I’ve heard of honey processed and have had a handful of them, but this was the first time I realized there were different stages of honey processing (white, yellow, red, and black). Which makes sense now because I had the “black honey” Gesha from Brandywine not too long ago and it was a limited offering (black honey is the more time consuming of the honeys).

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset


Costa Rica Tarrazu, Finca Dragon [Red Honey] – Crema

[Sparkling Florals, Melon, Green Grape, Milk Chocolate]

This cup was a lot sweeter than the White Honey, but other than that, I didn’t notice too much of a difference.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Check out more on honey processing at Seattle Coffee Works – they have an awesome write up on the process, different stages, and a photo of each process. It’ll make you appreciate this interesting process a lot more.


Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Conclusion

Holy crap, this flight was amazing. Even being a couple days late (thanks to the Post Office), it was so worth the wait. Parlor and Crema are killing it. I couldn’t recommend them enough, and you already know I highly recommend Angels Cup.

Mentioned in the Post

Angels Cup – WEBSITE // Instagram: @angelscup

Parlor Coffee – WEBSITE // Instagram: @parlorcoffee

Crema Coffee – WEBSITE // Instagram: @cremacrema

 

Leave a Reply

