Burundi Kayenza Bwayi

After finishing my bag of Burundi Gitwe Hill from Honest Coffee Roasters I wanted to pick up some green beans from the region to try it out at home. While typing up last weeks Angels Cup flight (which had a Burundi) I decided to pull the trigger. I don’t know how I came across it, but I found a website that sells entirely Burundi beans only. It seemed a bit sketchy so I only got a pound of their #3 micro lot:

Country Burundi
Region Kayanza
Farm Bwayi Washing Station Cooperative
Variety Bourbon, Jackson and Mbirizi
Altitude 1760 meters
Processing Method Fully washed
 The Cup
Aroma Caramel, resinous, chocolate, spicy, nutty
Flavor Sweet, orange, mandarin
Aftertaste Clean
Acidity Mild, nippy
Mouth Feel Buttery

– credit to Buserco

So…the next day it shipped. Maybe this won’t be so bad.

The shipping was super fast (I’m going to be ordering more from them). The packaging was great, very secure and professional. I’ve never bought green beans, but it seemed legit.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset


Roasting

100g is the ideal roast amount in my popcorn popper so I did two small roasts. I could’ve easily roasted the rest, but I wanted to hold off.

These roasts went so good. They turned out crazy consistent (FOR IT BEING A POPCORN POPPER….).

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

(I was looking at the wrong micro lot. These are from the Bwayi washing station, not the Kirema washing station.)

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Throughout the roast I pulled a bean out to do a somewhat comparison of the roasting.

**Update**

I finished off this pound yesterday.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

For the Coffee Nerds

These particular beans averaged about 15% weight loss. I was able to get 5 100g roasts from 1 pound. I thought it was only going to be 4 (not sure why), but then when roasting the final batches I was able to measure out 3 cups of 100g each. I’ll take it.


Tasting

V60

Since roasting I did two V60 03s of what I roasted earlier in the week. The first brew was barely off roast, but I’m impatient. It turned out super sweet and had an almost grapefruit like acidity. The second brew, yesterday, was crazy sweet again with a touch of acidity but more chocolate/toffee like notes coming through.


Overall

I’m crazy excited about how these turned out. Over the past few days I’m offered people samples and the response has been great. I’ll be shipping out the remainder of the Burundi on Monday, along with samples of the two Ethiopians I plan on roasting on Saturday. Can’t wait to get some feedback from others and see what they think.

I had forgotten which micro lot this came from on the site, but I found out so I’ll be ordering more next week for sure. Depending on the responses it’ll be more/less. I definitely want to have a bit for own personal brewing – I like it that much. It’s really surprised me how well coffee taste from a popcorn popper…

Hope everybody has a great weekend!!

 

Leave a Reply

